My Walk Through Tar Heel History

img_0393
The main hall of The Carolina Basketball Museum

If you had the chance to walk through 100 years in one morning, would you take it?

My wife recently indulged my fandom for North Carolina Tar Heels Basketball by walking, slowly, through the UNC Basketball Museum in Chapel Hill, N.C.

While there were plenty of names, faces, statistics, facts, trophies, photographs, and audio and video clips I’ve seen before, the museum combined more Tar Heels roundball artifacts than I could ever experience in one place. I got to walk past five national championship trophies. I got to listen to the excited game-winning highlights called by legendary radio announcer Woody Durham. I got to see relics of the basketball program’s past that I’ve never set my eyes on before.

img_0414
A letter Duke Coach Mike Krzyzewski sent to Michael Jordan after Jordan rejected a Duke scholarship offer.

And I got to do all of it for free. Kudos to the University of North Carolina, its athletics program and its donors and sponsors for making that happen for everyone who enters the grounds.

From photos of the Tar Heels’ beginnings back in the 1910s to memorabilia from the most recent national championship season in 2009, I got to see, hear and feel UNC basketball lore in the best way ever.

If you’re a Tar Heels fan, this is a must-see attraction. If you’re a fan of another college basketball team and find yourself in Chapel Hill, it’s still worth the visit. You’ll just have to pardon all of the Carolina blue color and Tar Heels paraphernalia.

The Carolina Basketball Museum

450 Skipper Bowles Drive, Chapel Hill, N.C.

http://www.goheels.com/fls/3350/museum/

Leave a Reply

